The Unhappy Atheist

I’ve never met a happy atheist.
Atheists are angry, often full of hatred. They are angry at religion and religious people, and since most people on the planet are religious, this means they are pretty much misanthropes. Atheists are often people who have been wronged by religious people, and their anger taints everything they do.
Atheists are usually intelligent; so intelligent in fact, that they think they are smarter than everyone else. Therefore they are full of arrogance, contempt and even rage against people for being so stupid as to believe in a god. They are condescending and patronizing, and their supposedly “objective” and “intellectual” criticism of religion is always laced with insults and negative emotion.
I have never read or heard an atheist argument that relied solely on logic. They use every propaganda trick in the book: straw men, exaggeration, reframing the argument, etc. They seemingly cannot present a logical point of view on the subject of religion that does not rely on distortions or attacks.
Atheists have a bleak view of the universe: there is no purpose to life, no code of ethics to guide us, no comfort in tragedy and death. There is simply cold, brutal Darwinism, a short, meaningless existence, and then utter nothingness.
If atheism brought inner peace, everyone would embrace it (except those who enjoy being conflicted.) Instead, the majority of people embrace religion.
Atheists are now attempting love and kindness, but they will tire of it. Atheists’ inherent sense of superiority will fill them with disgust for the weak. Atheists will burn out with no source of compassion to plug into and no well of joy from which to draw.
Atheism has nothing to offer you. Let go of your anger and your arrogance. They aren’t helping you.

8 Comments

  1. “I’ve never met a happy atheist.”

    Hi. Pleased to meet you. I’m an atheist. And I’m quite happy.

    How are you?

    • Well, pleased to meet you! You do exist! I thought you were only a myth, ha ha. Stick with it if it keeps working for you. If not…well, faith is always there for you. Peace!

      • I’m not convinced faith is a good or positive thing.

        Go with whatever makes you happy, though. Provided you don’t harm anyone else.

  2. Meet a happy atheist!

    I’ve found the freedom to create the meaning of my life for myself instead of having it dictated to me. I no longer have to try to believe things that make no sense to me. Since I know life is temporary I treasure each moment of it so much more.

    You should try meeting more atheists. Most of us are very happy people, and a lot of us are happier now than when we were religious.

    • Pleased to make your acquaintance!

      Truthfully, my post was really more about atheists attacking religion and faith. instead of being the paragons of logic, they use emotion, and quite negative emotion at that.

      It is up to us to decide what our life means-I agree. But I also think the One who designed us might have some ideas about our highest purpose, that’s all.

      Believing things that don’t make sense is difficult, I agree. But, if it was easy, then everybody would do it. I think that’s the test.

      I’m glad your life is going well. Mine isn’t. Maybe that’s why I’m investing in eternity. I don’t want that to suck as well.

      • Believing in things that don’t make sense is easy. Most of the people in the world do it every day. What’s hard is deciding that it’s OK not to believe the same things everybody around you believes, especially when they are pressuring you to believe exactly what they do. If religion were hard, then how is it that 80% of the US population is religious?

        It’s a good idea to do more than rely on religion to fix your life. If your religion is true, then by following it you’ve got eternity covered. But if you happened to pick the wrong one, or if god wants you to fix your own problems, or if no religion turns out to be true, then you probably also ought to take some initiative in making your life suck less. I don’t know anything about why your life sucks, but I hope you can embrace the parts that don’t suck.

        The Roman Emperor Marcus Aurelius said:
        “Live a good life. If there are gods and they are just, then they will not care how devout you have been, but will welcome you based on the virtues you have lived by. If there are gods, but unjust, then you should not want to worship them. If there are no gods, then you will be gone, but will have lived a noble life that will live on in the memories of your loved ones.”

      • “Believing in things that don’t make sense is easy.” Is it easier than believing in things that make sense?

        “What’s hard is deciding that it’s OK not to believe the same things everybody around you believes.” Ah, so it’s non-conformity that is the draw for you?

        And 80% of America is employed, but it doesn’t mean all of their jobs are easy. People don’t sign up for religion because it sounds like fun, they do it because they think they need it. If you ever decide you need it, it’s there for you, too.

      • (I scrolled down & found the rest of your thoughtful comments,)

        Yes, I work steadily to accept/change my life, to little avail. I’m not worried about picking the wrong religion-all of them are pretty accepting of others except Christianity. Hindus would say I’ll be reincarnated as something good because I’m trying to be a good person. Even Muslims would call me “a person of the Book.” Only Christianity demands exclusiveness, so I”m putting my money on that one, just in case.

        With all due respect to the great Marcus Aurelius, if I cannot live a perfect life (and I can’t) I could not hope to be in the company of perfection. Darkness cannot exist in the presence of perfect light, and evil-even mild evil-cannot exist in the presence of perfect holiness. That is the reason for Christ. But you knew I believed that, I suspect.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

